Music&Lit

Back to Music

Hi everyone.

I hope you all had a great holiday season and great New Year! I know it’s been awhile since my last post but it’s understandable due to the business of the season.

I’d like to share with you some of the courses I’m taking in my last semester of school since a lot of them relate to music and/or literature (and I’ll probably talk about specific topics from some of the classes that are blog worthy).

I’m taking a Gender and Music course which I am very excited about. We basically look at the difference between gender, roles, sexuality and performance in and around musical contexts, and how both influence and intersect with another. I feel like I’m going to find this class extremely interesting because it combines music, a topic that I love, and gender, a topic and discipline that is finally gaining recognition in Western society.

Another music course that I will be taking is Music Industries. I have yet to attend the first class but from the description, we will be focusing on the history and rise of different music industries and technologies. Since my boyfriend and I are starting to record some music things, that will be very interesting to learn about (hopefully :P).

My last music course is not really a course; it is more like co-op except without pay and within the normal 3 hours a week that a class would consume. This gives me an opportunity to go into the community and with someone’s permission, ‘shadow’ them in their occupation to gain experience and learn new things. I will be helping out my high school music teacher since I am sort of interested in teaching music in a school setting later in life. I am also very excited to start this experience because I really want to know the ‘real’ life of a music teacher.

Unfortunatey, I am only taking 1 English course this semester but I’m still quite excited for this one too. Last semester, one of the English courses focused on the pleasure of reading and now this course focuses on the pleasure of writing. I used to write a lot in high school and have just recently started again (obviously) but I am eager to see what exactly this course will entail. Maybe I’ll post some of my writings as a blog post 🙂

Until next time, loves.

Leave a Reply

