Literature

Forever

Sadness penetrates my skin and rots my bones. It’s the one thing I can rely on; the one thing that never goes away. Maybe it’ll disappear for a moment, a second, but then it rushes back. It steals my breath and never lets go. Reality comes crashing down once again and I know I’ll never rid this beast, this soul-sucking parasite. Eventually, it will devour me: my appearance, my thoughts, my identity. Then when there’s nothing left of me to give, it will leave me for dead while loneliness swallows me whole. It never ends.

Leave a Reply

