Story

Part I

It was 3 in the morning and soon it would be time to leave. Boxes covered my former room and taunted me, reminding me of what was going to happen in a couple hours. I couldn’t sleep so I decided to entertain myself.

I stepped in front of my full length mirror. My long, brown wig looked better now that I styled it. The light and shiny colour looked good against my creamy skin (I was glad that I started moisturizing my skin right before bed every night). My makeup was finally perfected after spending 30 minutes applying my eyeliner not too thick but not too thin to my deep blue eyes. I turned around. My new skirt twirled around my hips and settled down again. My shirt was tight, but not too tight as to draw attention to my small chest. It took me 3 hours but I finally looked presentable. No one could mistake me as a boy now.

*  *  *  *

I awoke to the blinding sunlight coming out of my small square window and the sound of my parents fighting downstairs. Every morning it was a different argument but today I had no doubt that it was about the move.

I went to the top of the stairs to eavesdrop.

“I’m tired of having this fight, Harold,” my mom started, “If Will doesn’t want to go to school right away then he can take some time off.”

My dad’s voice was loud and angry. “Just because we’re moving during the school year doesn’t mean he can slack off and take a vacation. I expect him to go to school on Monday.”

Today was Friday. I didn’t have much time to prepare. I would have to tell Lily about that later.

“I’m not saying it’s a vacation,” my mom continued bitterly, “but he needs time to adjust to the new house and such.”

My dad wasn’t giving up. “He’s 17 years old! He’ll bounce back in no time. Besides, he needs to focus on his maths and sciences this year. I don’t want him falling behind when college is right around the corner. If I’m going to work, then he’s going to school.”

“Whatever,” my mom snapped, “Just go get ready.”

All of the loading happened faster than I expected.  2 hours later, I went upstairs and took one last look at my barren bedroom. All of my memories seemed to float in front of me like mysterious ghosts and I thought of what I was leaving behind: the nights of constant tears, the years of hidden secrets, the waves of confused emotions. I would never experience them again and I was so glad.

“Will! Let’s get a move on!” My dad called to me. I took my time walking down the stairs. I got to the bottom and took my last mental picture of the house. I glanced for my parents but I couldn’t see them. I stepped outside and they were already in the car.

My mom waved me over from the passenger side and I deliberately slowed my pace even more. I opened the shiny door and got comfortable; it was going to be a 3 hour ride to our new life.

We backed out of the driveway and the moving truck on the street obediently followed. I looked out the window and watched my house and dneighborhood slowly slip away from me. An uncomfortable and shaky breath escaped my lips.

My mom heard the sigh. “It’s a big change but you’ll get adjusted in no time.”

I settled back and closed my heavy eyes. My thoughts dreamily drifted around my mind. There was definitely going to be a big change and it wouldn’t just be the move.

Leave a Reply

